Home > Movies > Revisiting Terminator 2: Judgement Day

Revisiting Terminator 2: Judgement Day

Last week I had the privilege to catch a screening of Terminator 2: Judgement Day at the Hana Hou Picture Show at the Ward Stadium Consolidated Theaters in Honolulu, HI.  This was a very special screening for me since as a child I watched this movie more than any other movie my parents owned at the time.  I can’t remember how many timed a rewound that VHS tape and played it in our VCR while sitting on the floor in my parents living room.  And all these years later, seeing it in on the big screen for the first time, I still find myself saying “Hasta la vista, baby” with Arnold Schwarzenegger and sitting on the edge of my seat as Linda Hamilton’s shotgun runs out of shells with the T-1000 standing ominously close to the ledge that would ultimately lead to his doom.

While I was watching the movie, I again asked myself why it resonates with me to this day. I will admit, my love for this movie started off as pure entertainment.  I was just a bright-eyed 7-year-old kid when my parents got that VHS I almost wore out.  There were fighting robots.  Explosions.  Hell, it even had a damn mini-gun.   What’s not to love?

Don’t get me wrong, I still love all those things.  But there is much more to it than that.  It has something I think most action movies are missing these days.  It has a message.

There is no fate but that which we make for ourselves.

I have carried those words with me my entire life.  It is a mantra I try to live by.  And I learned it from a movie about time traveling action heroes.  Some of our recent actions movies  could learn a lot from Terminator 2.   It’s not just about the fighting robots (I’m looking at you Michael Bay).  There has to be a reason for the fighting.  There has to be growth for the characters; something for them to learn.  In doing so, we grow.  We learn.  And before you know it, that young boy who fell it love with movies while seated in front of  the TV in his parent’s living room is starting a blog and seeing just how far he can take this love.  Because in the, there is no fate but that which we make for ourselves.  And thank you, Hana Hou Picture Show, for taking the time to remind me of that.

J.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

