Home > Movies > February 10th Theater Pick: Safe House

February 10th Theater Pick: Safe House

I know it’s been three weeks now and all I’ve done is Theater Picks, but it’s been a busy three weeks for me and I hope to have more for you soon.  But for now, Theater Picks is what you get.  And you get it a little late.

This week was a little difficult, and no it’s not because Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace was re-released in 3D.  If you forgot why you didn’t like it the first time, go ahead and see it.  You’ll be reminded.  In 3D.  After the crying stops you’ll come back here for some advice.  And that advice will be Safe House.

I had a tough decision this week between Safe House and Rampart.  Woody Harrelson’s performance in Rampart looks amazing and it is definitely a movie I plan on seeing.  I’m fully expecting him to blow this movie out of the water, and though it won’t do amazing in the box office it will hold it’s own.  Expect this movie to get some great reviews from critics and definitely check it out if you have the time.

But if you’re going out this weekend to see a movie, the safe bet is Safe House.  Denzel Washington returns to the darkside (Star Wars pun intended this week) that we saw in Training Day.  But is he the villain?  It’s not looking that way.  And Ryan Reynolds is back to show us that he was not the weak part in Green Lantern.  Which is a true statement.  I’ve been a fan of his work from back in the Two Guys, A Girl, and a Pizza Place days and it’ll will be interesting to see what he can do opposite Denzel Washington.  Though the action scenes are set up to be pretty intense; the interesting part will be watching Denzel Washington’s character play mind games with Ryan Reynolds.  I expect that there is more than meets the eye with this movie.

Thanks for tuning in.  If you see anything this weekend let me know what you thought of it.

J.

  1. February 11, 2012 at 4:14 am

    I saw Safe House today. It is the anti-tinker/tailor. Definitely not a thinking man’s spy flick. Instead call it a spy fan’s action film. Lots of Bourne elements. Not particular new or original. But quite enjoyable. Thanks for your review in support of this film.

    jmm

  2. February 11, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    Glad to hear you liked it. If I have time I’ll check it out this weekend. Tinker Tailer Soldier Spy was a great film, but definitely what I’d call a slow burn. I’ll probably have to rent it to really enjoy it in all of it’s complex glory.

    J.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

